Millfield clay shooting host annual invitational

Millfield clay shooting host annual invitational

Millfield hosted its annual invitational shoot at the Mendip Shooting Ground, welcoming twelve schools for the day to compete in seven stands of varying difficulty.

The competition has been run by Millfield for over 10 years and has been held at the current Mendip Shooting Ground venue for the past six years. The event has grown in popularity, now welcoming over 120 students from schools across the country.

Millfield entered six teams including a ladies team.

Millfield A team scored 125, finishing first. The team have been shooting since Year 9. Congratulations to Upper Sixth Boris Findlay (captain), Alex M, Lower Sixth Ivor Fothergill and Patrick Sailsbury.

After a tense shoot off between Boris and Patrick, High Gun was taken by Patrick.

Millfield B team scored 115 to secure second place. Their team consisted of Lower Sixth Kaikai Fan, Upper Sixth Tom Rogan, Year 9 Oliver Austin and Pierre Joubert.

Bradfield School, who travelled from Berkshire, gained third place.

Other students competing performed exceptionally, Millfield C team: Lower Sixth Nicholas Titley, Owen Williams, Year 11 Nick Whittingham and Teddy Hutchison. Millfield D team: Lower Sixth Charlie Courtney, Fred Keegan, Year 11 Jimmy Ji and Year 10 Rob Neylan. Millfield E team: Lower Sixth Michelle Li, Eddie Wang, Year 11 Henry Siviter and Year 9 Thomas Wheatley.

All the ladies teams shot well and Millfield, consisting of Lower Sixth Xanthe Clothier, Upper Sixth Charlotte Taylor and Year 9 Matilda Wilkes, took the title of the ladies competition, followed by strong performances from Cheltenham College and King’s Bruton.

Congratulations to all students who participated in the invitational shoot. The next competition will be held next Autumn.

Other News