The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

Duke of Edinburgh's Award 1
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 2
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 3
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 4
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 5
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 6
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 7
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 8
Duke of Edinburgh's Award 9

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) is the world’s leading achievement award for young people, recognised by employers and universities alike. It promotes personal development through participation in this enjoyable, challenging and rewarding programme. Millfield is proud to have successfully delivered the DofE to its students since the 1980s. We have held an Independent Operating Authority License from the launch and are now recognised as a Directly Licensed Centre (DLC).

A high quality DofE programme is offered to all students. This provides the opportunity to progress through all levels of the award, learning and developing new skills along the way. Each level of the award has four sections to complete, Volunteering, Skill, Physical and Expedition. There is an additional section for Gold participants to complete, which is a one week residential.

Millfield students commence their awards as shown below:

Bronze: Year 9 upwards

Silver: Year 10 upwards

Gold: Sixth Form (must be 16)

Over the last few years, there has been an increase in participation and completion numbers across all levels. Participants who complete the Gold Award are invited to a certificate presentation at St James’ Palace, London.


Millfield offers opportunities to complete the Expedition section of the award in beautiful wild and remote locations throughout the South West and Wales.